The Cajun Injector Electric Smoker

by doomdigit

I have wanted to use a smoker for a long time but always assumed that smoking involved difficult work best left to the Mystical Smoke Masters. Imagine my surprise last year when I finally purchased a smoker and discovered that the process is quite simple. I use the Cajun Injector Electric Smoker and it seems to be a foolproof model.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you purchase this model make sure you get the one with the control box just above the door, not on top of the smoker. The latter model had issues with the control box. I have used the previous model for about a year and have made ~300 lbs of jerky already: chicken, turkey, and duck. The new location of the control box is still not ideal, but I have not had any problems yet.

Crypt of Valhalla – For Chickens

Before I purchased this model I talked with some local Smoke Masters about the various models on sale. I did not have much money, and I wandered around the store for a while trying to decide. I cannot stress enough the importance of the kind of advice I received—without it I probably would have chosen a lesser quality smoker. You can easily tell who the helpful Smoke Masters are because as soon as you mention anything smoke related they are on your leg like a dog, furiously humping and breathing facts in your face, and you fear you will never escape, and that if you actually do you will never be the same again. Not every store has knowledgeable employees. You can tell the difference because most people are eager to discuss their areas of expertise.

There are many different smokers available but basically you have models that: only smoke, cook and smoke without a water pan, cook and smoke with a water pan. The model I chose is the latter. I see no reason to spend time smoking and then more time cooking. I also see no reason in purchasing a model that does not have a water pan because I want to be able to smoke and cook without worrying about the meat drying out.

It is unbelievable how well this model works for me—it is so easy! I remember the first time I used it I kept opening the door and checking on the meat, but after that one time I had already discovered the secret. The secret that was written in the instruction manual… 200 degrees Fahrenheit for 2 hours. ¼ cup of wood chips. I use apple, and although the manual does not say this, I leave the flu open a bit so that the meat is not over smoked. It really is that simple. The Smoke Masters did not come right out and reveal every secret, but they hinted at it: “It’s not rocket science. Don’t overthink it. Write down your experiences in a notebook. Develop a formula that works for your smoker and stick with it. You can experiment later.” So far I have not had a chance to experiment with it, I just stick with the formula that worked the first time for chicken jerky. The only exception is the duck jerky I made yesterday, which was left in the smoker for an extra 18 minutes. I had a difficult time cooking duck on the grill last year, so I wanted to leave it in the smoker longer.

In gratitude to the Smoke Masters who advised me I brought them jerky I made, and of course they approved. I had absolutely no experience in this before, yet I was churning out high quality products. One point worth mentioning is that people who spend years developing a skill can still overlook things or make mistakes. Bewildered by the myriad seasonings I asked which ones worked well for various meats. I was advised not to use a certain seasoning for chicken, but I thought it would work anyway. We all tried it and discovered that it does work well. Just because you are a novice does not mean you cannot discover things the experts missed. Always be humble and willing to learn.

If you have any specific questions feel free to ask in the comments. Keep in mind my experience is limited to making jerky with this model, but perhaps others can help. This smoker changed my life by opening windows I never even knew existed. As one of the Smoke Masters explained, this is a skill that gives you “fringe benefits”. It really does, but remember what Gandalf said: “keep it secret, keep it safe”. Never tell people how easy this is unless you feel like creating competition and lowering prices. Jerky and smoked meat are expensive products that people will always want. People will always confer special powers to masters of subjects—even simple ones—they are ignorant of. Take advantage of this.

 

8 Comments to “The Cajun Injector Electric Smoker”

  1. Thanks! We value inside info at Eradica.

    So basically you stick some meat in a container, cook off all the liquid by dehydrating it, and something in the smoke seals the meat. How long is jerked or smoked meat going to keep?

    Jerky must command a higher price that a regular chicken carcass. That’s the secret then. Just cloak it in mystery and it’ll scare off the amateurs.

  2. Smoking stuff is GREAT. My dad and uncles do it and its YUMMY and the meat lasts for long enough, that you still have some leftover before the next batch arrives next year.

  3. “Smoking stuff is GREAT.”

    Much better than anything you can get at the store.

    “How long is jerked or smoked meat going to keep?”

    Standard store jerky is the dry stuff that lasts forever. That’s one kind of jerky. Another kind is soft and chewy, with only a few pieces being tough. If I were interested in storing food long term I would either make the tough kind of jerky or use a food sealer on the soft stuff and freeze it. Jerky never lasts long around here, so I can’t really say how long it will last.

    Most people associate jerky with beef and have never even heard of chicken jerky. That can affect cost, especially since it’s used as dog treats… that kills dogs… Turkey is very popular.

    “Jerky must command a higher price that a regular chicken carcass. ”

    Yes, the smoker is basically a force multiplier, especially if you are controlling every aspect of the process. Not everyone can do that, but pretty much everyone can get a smoker. It really doesn’t give off too much smoke, so I think most people could get away with it if they’re careful.

    You don’t have to use a smoker to make jerky though. You can use an oven (with the door open), a dehydrator, or maybe even some tea smoker set up (I’ve yet to study that).

  4. “So basically you stick some meat in a container, cook off all the liquid by dehydrating it, and something in the smoke seals the meat.”

    You don’t even need to understand how it works. All the formulas are worked out: seasoning, cure, time, heat–all of it. That’s the beauty of this. You don’t have to master it to make profits, you just follow directions, unless you want to try something new. You can spend as much or as little time as you want learning about the process, but you already know it works.

    There are many other opportunities like this, and I’d like to see a White Underground Railroad, with whites helping each other escape this sick system.

  5. Great article! I can’t wait to have some chickens and ducks myself some day hopefully in the not so distant future. I really enjoy reading your stuff. Super inspiring.

    How many birds fit into the smoker?

    I love jerky and would love to try some chicken jerky. It would be awesome to have when hiking . . .

    On a related note I just watched this video that claims that duck eggs helps keep teeth healthy:

    • Thanks, brother, glad to hear it.

      If you want good laying ducks, Khaki Campbells are the best. Indian Runners also have a good reputation, and they are my favorite duck. I advise you to stay away from Pekins unless you really want duck meat. They eat a lot. To put this in perspective, when we had 50 McMutants it got to the point where they were eating 25 lbs of feed per day. We just raised 34 ducklings, 20 of which were Pekins. They were eating 20 lbs of feed per day. Insane. I will show you the duck coop later this year, I hope. I want people to be able to start off immediately on the right path and avoid simple mistakes. And not have to pay a dime for the advice…

      I only cook 4 lbs of jerky at a time. I could fit a whole McMutant or duck in there. Yes, this is a small model, but it works for me. When you get around to smoking whole birds I will share a brine recipe one of the smoke masters gave me.

      I’ll watch the video when I get a chance. I prefer duck eggs to chicken eggs. They just taste better for some reason. I can tell you right now that you’ll get sick of eggs, and they’ll start to pile up in the fridge. I’ve had to resort to feeding scrambled eggs to the critters to reduce the cost of feed. This sounds like cannibalism, but it isn’t. I’ve read manuals from the late 1800s and early 1900s and that is where I heard about doing this. So far I haven’t had any problems.

  6. The biggest drawback to these smokers is that they are usually too narrow to fit a full slab of ribs or a whole brisket on a shelf. You can cut them in half, or hang them. To hang them you need to be creative. I use metal shower curtain hooks and hang them from a shelf in the top position. Another option is to drill holes in the sides near the top and put in some dowels and run the curtain hooks along them.

Leave Comment: Comments do not require an email -- or even logging in

